"The ensemble around Kira Linn is precise and closely interlinked and nevertheless plays with exuberant freshness and energy. In doing so, it completely naturally combines a wide variety of influences into a new whole, as one could only wish for from a group of young musicians".
- Niels Klein

"Linntett" is the sextet of baritone saxophonist and composer Kira Linn. After two released modern jazz albums (2017 "Nature" , Double Moon Records, 2020 "A Traveller's Tale", Laika Records), the band takes a slightly different musical path with their new album which will be released in the fall of 2022.

 

For the new program, Kira Linn has been inspired by electronic and pop music. They play jazz music with elements of neo-soul, indie and avant-garde pop. In doing so, the Linntett combines the acoustic sound of alto, tenor and baritone saxophone with the electronic sound of electric bass, synthesizers and Rhodes and electronic effects. Through the multi-layered arrangements and expressive improvisations, the jazz background is recognizable. In addition, pulsating beats and synthetic sound clouds take the listener on a musical journey through different emotional worlds. For the first time, Kira Linn uses her voice as a sonic element and lyrics as another stylistic device. 

 

The Linntett tours regularly and has already played more than 40 concerts, among others at the Jazzclub Unterfahrt in Munich, at the Jazzrally Düsseldorf and the International Jazz Week Burghausen.

 

"It's also their love of large-scale formations that informs their music, with catchy themes, lush saxophone phrases and well-thought-out arrangements." (Jazz'n'More)

 

"Premises for the bandleader seem to be keeping a sonic aesthetic at a high level and very respectfully combining the traditional with the modern." (Concerto Magazine)

 

"Especially in improvisation, the wind players take very different paths and yet complement each other perfectly. Each musician provides impulses that are taken up, varied and integrated by the other musicians." (Jazzpodium)

 

 

Kira Linn - baritone saxophone / bass clarinet / voice / composition

Nino Wenger - alto saxophone / flute

Christopher Kunz - tenor - / soprano saxophone

Lukas Großmann - piano / synthesizer

Lukas Keller - bass

Johannes Koch - drums

C5681C72-EFB5-4FEF-854E-A41832C5FFD1.jpeg

"Das Ensemble um Kira Linn ist präzise und eng verzahnt und spielt nichts desto trotz mit überbordender Frische und Energie. Dabei verbindet es vollkommen selbstverständlich verschiedenste Einflüsse zu einem neuen Ganzen, wie man es sich von einer Gruppe junger Musiker*innen nur wünschen kann".
- Niels Klein

Das "Linntett" ist das Sextett der Baritonsaxophonistin und Komponistin Kira Linn. Nach zwei veröffentlichten Modern-Jazz-Alben (2017 "Nature" , Double Moon Records, 2020 "A Traveller's Tale", Laika Records) geht die Band einen anderen musikalischen Weg. 

 

Für das neue Programm hat sich Kira Linn von elektronischer und Popmusik inspirieren lassen. Sie spielen Jazzmusik mit Elementen von elektronischer Musik, Indie und Avantgarde-Pop. Dabei verbindet das Linntett den akustischen Klang von Alt-, Tenor- und Baritonsaxophon mit dem elektronischen Sound von E-Bass, Synthesizern und Rhodes und elektronischen Effekten. Durch die vielschichtigen Arrangements und ausdrucksstarken Improvisationen ist der Jazz-Hintergrund erkennbar. Hinzu kommen pulsierende Beats und synthetische Klangwolken, die den Zuhörer auf eine musikalische Reise durch verschiedene Gefühlswelten mitnehmen. Zum ersten Mal setzt Kira Linn ihre Stimme als klangliches Element und Lyrics als weiteres Stilmittel ein. 

 

Das Linntett tourt regelmäßig und hat bereits mehr als 40 Konzerte gespielt, unter anderem auf der Jazzahead in Bremen, bei der Jazzrally Düsseldorf und der Internationalen Jazzwoche Burghausen.

 

„Ihre Liebe zur Grossformation ist es auch, die ihre Musik prägt, mit eingängigen Themen, satten Saxophonsätzen und wohldurchdachten Arrangements.“ (Jazz’n’More)

 

„Prämissen für die Bandleaderin scheinen zu sein, eine klangliche Ästhetik auf hohem Niveau zu halten und sehr respektvoll Traditionelles mit Modernem zu vereinen.“ (Concerto Magazin)

 

„Gerade in der Improvisation gehen die Bläser sehr unterschiedliche Wege und ergänzen sich trotzdem perfekt. Jeder Musiker liefert Impulse, die von den anderen Musikern aufgenommen, variiert und integriert werden.“ (Jazzpodium)

 

 

Kira Linn - Baritonsaxophon / Bassklarinette / Stimme / Komposition

Nino Wenger - Altsaxophon / Flöte

Christopher Kunz - Tenor - / Sopransaxophon

Lukas Großmann - E-Piano / Synthesizer

Lukas Keller - E-Bass

Johannes Koch - Schlagzeug

C5681C72-EFB5-4FEF-854E-A41832C5FFD1.jpeg