3F79AED5-C8C2-479E-AC27-3D720402E186_1_2

ABOUT

"Kira Linn is a very talented young baritone saxophone player. In her compositions, she explores the jazz language in depth while developing her own distinctive musical vision."

- Jorge Rossy

Kira Linn was born in 1993 and has been playing baritone saxophone since 2008. During her school days she was able to gain a lot of big band experience at concerts, competitions and tours.

 

After graduating from school, Kira studied jazz saxophone and pedagogy from 2013 to 2017 at the University of Music Nuremberg with Klaus Graf, Steffen Schorn and Stefan Karl Schmid. From 2018 till 2020 she has been studying the master's program at the Jazzcampus in Basel under the guidance of Guillermo Klein, Domenic Landolf and Mark Turner.

 

As a member of the Hesse State Youth Jazz Orchestra Kira was able to play concerts in South Africa and New York City. From 2018 to 2020 she was a member of the German National Youth Jazz Orchestra (Bundesjazzorchester) under the direction of Niels Klein and Jiggs Wigham. In November 2018 the band played at the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg with Randy Brecker and in June / July 2019 they went on tour to Tel Aviv, Berlin, New York, Rochester and Chicago for the 100th Bauhaus anniversary.

 

In addition to some engagements in smaller formations, she played regularly with the "Sunday Night Orchestra" and the "Swiss Jazz Orchestra", subbed in the "Frankfurt Radio Bigband" and the "Zurich Jazz Orchestra" and works as a band leader.

 

In 2016 Kira founded her own sextet: the "Linntett". She is composing and arranging for her band, which released their first album in 2017 with "Double Moon Records" in the "Jazzthing Next Generation" series. The second album was released in october 2020 with „Laika Records“ and features Jorge Rossy on vibraphone and Domenic Landolf on tenor saxophone and bass clarinet. The band Linntett is touring regularly and already played over 40 concerts at „Jazzclub Unterfahrt“ in Munich, the "Jazzrally Düsseldorf“ and the "Internationale Jazzwoche Burghausen“ among others.

ÜBER

"Kira Linn is a very talented young baritone saxophone player. In her compositions, she explores the jazz language in depth while developing her own distinctive musical vision."

- Jorge Rossy

Kira Linn wurde 1993 geboren und spielt seit 2008 Baritonsaxophon. Sie konnte schon während ihrer Schulzeit viel Big Band Erfahrung bei Konzerten, Wettbewerben und Tourneen sammeln.

 

Nach dem Schulabschluss studierte Kira von 2013 bis 2017 Jazz-Saxophon und Pädagogik an der Hochschule für Musik Nürnberg bei Klaus Graf, Steffen Schorn und Stefan Karl Schmid. Seit 2018 studiert sie im Masterstudiengang am Jazzcampus in Basel und erhält dort Unterricht bei Guillermo Klein, Domenic Landolf und Mark Turner. 

 

Als Mitglied des Landesjugendjazzorchesters Hessen durfte Kira an Konzerttourneen nach Südafrika und New York teilnehmen. Von 2018 bis 2020 war sie Mitglied im Bundesjazzorchester (Bujazzo) unter der Leitung von Niels Klein und Jiggs Wigham. Im November 2018 spielte die Band zusammen mit Randy Brecker in der Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg und im Juni/Juli 2019 ging sie zum 100 jährigen Bauhaus Jubiläum auf Tournee nach Tel Aviv, Berlin, New York, Rochester und Chicago.

 

Neben einigen Engagements in kleineren Besetzungen spielte sie regelmäßig mit dem „Sunday Night Orchester“ und dem "Swiss Jazz Orchestra", durfte bei der „HR Bigband“ und dem "Zurich Jazz Orchestra" aushelfen und ist als Bandleaderin tätig. 2016 gründete sie Ihr Sextett („Linntett“), für das sie Stücke komponiert und arrangiert und dessen erste CD im Juni 2017 bei „Double Moon Records“ in der Jazzthing Next Generation Reihe herausgekommen ist. Mit dem Linntett spielte sie bereits mehr als 40 Konzerte unter anderem in der Unterfahrt München, der Jazzrally Düsseldorf und der internationalen Jazzwoche Burghausen. 2020 wird die zweite CD erscheinen, auf der unter anderem Domenic Landolf und Jorge Rossy zu hören sind.

 

© 2020 by KIRA LINN.